Brought to you by:

NIBA names award winners

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google

CGU has been named the 2015 General Insurer of the Year at the National Insurance Brokers Association’s (NIBA) convention in Melbourne this morning.

NIBA says CGU was a narrow winner over QBE, with Allianz in third position.

The highly coveted award was voted on by more than 1100 NIBA member brokers, who took part in the association’s annual broker market survey.

The award is measured on insurers’ products and services in a range of categories.

In other awards at the convention’s opening session this morning, Victorian broker Bunmi Ajayi of Megalines Insurance & Risk Advisers has been named the Broker of the Year. The award is sponsored by Zurich.

Marsh Australia Executive Director David Duffield was awarded the Lex McKeown Trophy in recognition of his service to NIBA and broking. 

The Warren Tickle Memorial Award, which was contested by the five regional winners of NIBA’s Young Professional Broker of the Year Award and sponsored by Vero, has been won by Luke Chrzanowski of Tresidder Insurance Group in Victoria.

Insurance Advisernet broker Jeremy Thornton, the owner of Complete Risk Solutions in Taree, NSW, has been named NIBA College Student of the Year, and Jade Bolam, of North Queensland Insurance Brokers in Ayr, has won the Trainee of the Year award. Both awards are sponsored by QBE.

More details in our regular bulletin this afternoon.