Skip to content

Brought to you by:
Email Print

CGU wins third consecutive NIBA award

CGU was named general insurer of the year at the National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) Convention in Sydney this morning.

It took the title for a third straight year, as reported in a Breaking News bulletin earlier today.

The result is determined through an annual survey of nearly 1000 member brokers.

“The award recognises the strong efforts CGU has put in to servicing and supporting brokers and their clients in the past year,” NIBA CEO Dallas Booth said.

The other finalists for the award were Allianz, Chubb and QBE.

The QBE-sponsored Stephen Ball Memorial Award for broker of the year went to Brett Piggott of Willis Temby Insurance Brokers in WA. The award includes a $20,000 travel and education prize.

“He has clearly demonstrated exceedingly high levels of commitment to clients and provides solutions from both Australian and international markets,” QBE EGM Intermediary Distribution Jason Clarke said.

Mr Piggott beat finalists James Dunk (Dunk Insurance), John Farrell (Steadfast Taswide Insurance Brokers), Maria Newman (Marsh) and Kelly Keast (Holdfast Insurance Brokers).

The Warren Tickle Memorial Award for young professional broker of the year, sponsored by Vero, went to Adam Ware of BJS Insurance Brokers in Gippsland, Victoria. Other finalists were Stephen Allan (GSA), Stacey Lloyd (Marsh), Mitchell Sleigh (Arthur J Gallagher) and Jamie Rigoli (JLT).

Emjay Insurance Brokers director Jeff Murdoch was awarded the Lex McKeown Trophy for services to NIBA and the industry.

NIBA President Tim Wedlock says Mr Murdoch has been a strong supporter of the group’s mentoring program since its inception, and had guided many young professionals.

Brought to you by: Insurance Jobs Brought to you by: Brought to you by: